All sites will be down on Saturday, November 28, 2015 from 6am to 10am due to server maintenance.
We apologize for any inconvenience.

You are here: Home > CBCF Facility > Facility Governing Board

Facility Governing Board

It is an honor to serve as the first chairperson of the Cuyahoga County Facility Governing Board for the Judge Nancy R. McDonnell Community Based Correctional Facility (CBCF). CBCFs serve a vital role in our criminal justice system. With prison overcrowding continuing to be problematic for the state, CBCFs provide a sanction for appropriate offenders while offering research based programs that are proven to reduce recidivism. Recognizing that offenders do return to our community, it behooves us to provide them with programming that addresses chemical dependency issues, teaches accountability and better decision making, and requires them to be productive citizens. On behalf of the entire Facility Governing Board, I commend the collaborative efforts of the Cuyahoga County Common Pleas Court, Cuyahoga County leaders, the City of Cleveland, and the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction that resulted in this much-needed community based facility becoming a reality in our community.

Alfonso Sanchez, Chair 


Facility Governing Board Members:
Alfonso Sanchez,Chair
Melanie GiaMaria, Esq,
Recording Secretary
Sandy Turk
William Denihan 
Greg Popovich
Luis Vazquez
Gwen Mitchel-Cole
Charles See
William Thompson
Thomas Washington, Vice Chair
Paul Tepfenhart

Meeting Information: The Facility Governing Board meets the second Friday of each month at 8:30am, at the Judge Nancy R. McDonnell Community Based Correctional Facility, 3540 Croton Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio 44115. 

Meetings are open to the public.

For a list of all board and committee meeting dates, agendas and minutes, please go to the Meeting Calendar page.

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee is a sub-committee of the Facility Governing Board. The committee’s purpose is to assist the board in carrying out its responsibilities relating to oversight of programming, ensuring fidelity of services provided, and ensuring compliance with the By-Laws. The committee is also responsible to ensure evidence-based best practices are utilized in an innovative criminal justice response for eligible offenders at the Judge Nancy R. McDonnell Community Based Correctional Facility. 

Download the By-Laws
Governance Committee Members:

Al Sanchez
William Thompson (Chair)
Gwen Mitchel-Cole
Luis Vazquez

Greg Popovich
Melanie GiaMaria
William Denihan
Paul Tepfenhart 

Community Outreach Committee

The Community Outreach Committee is a sub-committee of the Facility Governing Board. The committee’s purpose is to ensure that the general public and criminal justice professionals are well informed of the activities taking place at the CBCF. The committee also promotes activities that instill public confidence in the efforts and services being provided by the staff at the CBCF and to ensure that the actions of this facility contribute to the community and public safety.

We are currently interested in meeting with various community organizations. If interested, contact

Community Outreach Committee Members:
Charles See
Alfonso Sanchez
Thomas Washington